Peter The Great Saint-Petersburg Polytechnical University

SPbPU at European Technical University Cooperation Platform meeting

SPbPU delegation attended a meeting Cooperation Platform member-universities of European Metropolitan Technical Universities from Central and Eastern Europe. The meeting took place in Prague in Czech Technical University (CTU).

Petr Konvalinka, CTU rector, greeted the delegates. He wished them successful work and expressed hope that member-universities will strengthen cooperation in the sphere of science.

During the meeting, university representatives discussed opportunities of participation in European Union programs such as “Horizon-2020” and “COST”. CTU professors presented a report in “Disaster Risk Management” and offered to organize of a consortium of universities to win a COST” program grant for a joint pilot project.

This project’s propose is to build connections between universities in order to apply together for a significant funding program «Horizon-2020″. Professor Miroslav Siykora CTU was appointed temporary coordinator of the approved project.. Till October 1st consortium participants must send coordinator proposals of participation in the project and to agree on the procedure for the proposal development.

12

At other meetings, issues of inviting leading professors from universities – participants of the Platform to SPbPU, were discussed as well as aspects of quickly obtaining necessary information, intensification of exchanges of students and others. All international participants were interested in SPbPU master’s programs taught in English. At the moment details of inviting leading professors from the participating universities , that could offer innovative courses and modern cases for SPbPU master’s programs and a student exchange programs are under discussion.

Ekaterina Sokolova, manager of International Relations IEiTS SPbPU met with Vaclav Dostal and Radek Skoda, professors of Institute of Power Engineering, CTU. During the meeting they discussed creation of a joint master’s programs in English «Nuclear Power Engineering Facilities». They agreed to start curricula adjustment. In addition, an agreement was reached on invitating professors Dostal and Skoda to teach at SPbPU in fall semester of 2015. SPbPU representatives were invited to participate, with the support of Rosatom in the symposium of International Institute of Nuclear INI-2016.

The meeting participants agreed that the leadership of the Platform of cooperation for the next year will be transferred to MSTU named after Bauman N.E., also discussed issues of transferring Coordinator of the Platform post. In conclusion, participants thanked the leaders of Czech Technical University for his work as a coordinator, for excellent organization of the meeting and for the warm welcome.

For reference:

Platform metropolitan technical universities in Central and Eastern Europe cooperation was established in 2008 in order to join efforts in breakthrough research and development of high-qualitied educational programs. Currently, the network includes leading European engineering universities in Austria, Germany, Hungary, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, the Ukraine and Czech Republic.

Санкт-Петербургский политехнический университет Петра Великого

СПбПУ на встрече Платформы сотрудничества европейских технических университетов

Делегация СПбПУ приняла участие во встрече представителей университетов – участников Платформы сотрудничества столичных технических университетов стран Центральной и Восточной Европы. Встреча состоялась в Праге, на базе Чешского технического университета (ЧТУ).

Ректор ЧТУ Петр Конвалинка выступил с приветственным словом, пожелал успешной работы и выразил надежду на то, что университеты – участники Платформы усилят взаимодействие именно в научной сфере.

В ходе пленарной встречи представители университетов обсудили возможность совместного участия в программах Европейского Союза «Horizon-2020» и «COST». Профессора из ЧТУ выступили с докладами по направлению «Disaster Risk Management» и предложениями организовать консорциум университетов для подачи совместного пилотного проекта по этому направлению на получение гранта программы «COST».

На этом проекте предлагается отработать взаимодействие участников с тем, чтобы затем подавать совместные заявки на более существенное финансирование программы «Horizon-2020».  Временным координатором одобренного проекта назначен профессор ЧТУ Мирослав Сийкора. До 1 октября участники консорциума должны выслать координатору предложения по участию в проекте и согласовать порядок разработки заявки.

12

В ходе других встреч обсуждались вопросы приглашения в СПбПУ ведущих профессоров из университетов – участников Платформы, быстрого получения необходимой информации, интенсификации обмена студентами и др. Всех зарубежных участников встречи заинтересовали магистерские программы Политеха, преподаваемые на английском языке. В настоящее время идет обсуждение порядка приглашения ведущих профессоров из университетов-участников, предлагающих инновационные курсы и современные кейсы для наших магистерских программ,  а также порядка обмена студентами.

Менеджер международных отношений ИЭиТС СПбПУ Екатерина Соколова встретилась с профессорами Института энергетического машиностроения ЧТУ Вацлавом Досталом и Радеком Шкодой. В ходе встречи обсуждались вопросы создания совместной магистерской программы на английском языке «Nuclear Power Engineering Facilities». Было принято решение начать согласование учебных планов. Кроме этого, достигнута договоренность о приглашении этих профессоров для чтения курсов в СПбПУ в осеннем семестре 2015 г. Представителям СПбПУ предложили принять участие при поддержке Росатома в симпозиуме Международного ядерного института INI-2016.

Участники встречи, согласившись с тем, что лидерство по Платформе сотрудничества на следующий год переходит к  МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана, обсудили рабочие вопросы передачи функций координатора Платформы. В заключение, участники поблагодарили руководителей Чешского технического университета за работу в качестве координатора, хорошую организацию встречи и теплый прием.

Для справки:

Платформа сотрудничества столичных технических университетов стран Центральной и Восточной Европы была создана в 2008 г. с целью объединения усилий в сфере прорывных научных исследований и разработки качественных образовательных программ. В настоящее время в сеть входят ведущие европейские инженерно-технические вузы Австрии, Венгрии, Германии, Литвы, Норвегии, Польши, России, Словакии, Украины и Чехии.

Материал подготовлен Екатериной Соколовой